Maize Cup Returns, Chiefs Involved Again

July 09, 2018

Kaizer Chiefs will have the chance to defend their Maize Cup crown as the tournament will kick off this weekend.

The Soweto giants defeated Free State Stars 1-0 to win the four-team tournament last season.

The other three teams included the tournament are Ea Lla Koto again, Chippa United and National First Division side Buya Msuthu.

“Free State Stars return to action in the Maize Cup 2018 that takes place on Saturday, 14 July in the North West Province. The four teams that will take part are Free State Stars, defending champions Kaizer Chiefs, Chippa United and ABC Motsepe League side Buya Msuthu,” Stars confirmed on the club’s official website.

“The Maize Cup is a pre-season, one-day tournament that was launched in July 2015 in Delareyville. It was originally known as the Bokone Bophirima Maize Triangle Challenge, launched in partnership with the provincial Governments of the Free State and Mpumalanga.

“Platinum Stars won the inaugural Maize Cup, beating Bloemfontein Celtic, Mpumalanga Black Aces and Township Rollers from Botswana, while Orlando Pirates ousted Platinum Stars in the second edition. Last year, Amakhosi edged Ea Lla Koto 1-0 at the James Motlatsi Stadium,”