Manchester City Win Premier League

April 16, 2018

Manchester City have been declared Premier League champions with five games left of the season, after Manchester United’s shock home defeat to West Brom on Sunday.

After the Sky Blues’ 28th victory of the season – beating Tottenham 3-1 on Saturday – Manchester United had to avoid defeat at Old Trafford to stop Man City from winning the title.

Jose Mourinho’s side went down to the league’s bottom club after a 73rd-minute goal from Jay Rodriquez.

Only once before have United lost at home to a team that started the day at the bottom of the table.

Winning the title with five matches to go makes Manchester City the joint earliest champions in the Premier League era, sharing this achievement with the 2000-01 Manchester United team.

This is Pep Guardiola’s first title win since taking over as manager in February 2016, and it is the club’s third time winning the Premier League.